Start - Backpackers, Aktivitäten und Essen im südlichen Afrika

So viel zu erleben an der Garden Route ...

Tauchen/Wassersport in Mossel Bay

Fallschirm in Mossel Bay oder Plett

Abenteuer Tours in Wilderness oder Knysna

Meer-Abenteuer in Plett

Tier-Reservate in the Crags

Unterkünfte in Mossel Bay, Klein Brak, George, Wilderness, Buffalo Bay, Knysna, Plettenberg Bay, The Crags und Nature's Valley
Um eine Unterkunft zu empfehlen sende eine E-Mail an: garden@theguide.org.za

Unternehmungslustig? Aktivitäten an der Garden Route

Schlafmöglichkeiten an der Garden Route


Reise durch einen riesigen Garten Eden, geniesse die reiche Natur und vielfältige Tierwelt!


Vergrösserte Karte anschauen


Mossel Bay
______________________________________

Mossel Bay Backpackers

Guide Nr: GR1701 -::- Tel: 044 691 3182 -::- Mail: mbbp@telkomsa.net

Diese Unterkunft in einem Haus nahe dem Strand bietet sich als idealer Ausgangspunkt für jegwelche Strandaktivitäten. Ein paar super Surf-Spots befinden sich in der Nähe, fragt die Angestellten und sie werden euch sagen, wo ihr die besten Wellen findet. Das Museum ist auch nicht zu weit entfernt und ihr könnt euch das alte Schiff anschauen, das vor langer Zeit in diesen Hafen gesegelt ist. Falls ihr einfach nur ausspannen wollt, legt euch faul an den Swimming Pool. Fragt nach konkreten Wegangaben zum Backpackers (wir haben uns ein bisschen verirrt).

-::- Coast to Coast -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Santos Express

Guide Nr: GR1702 -::- Tel: 044 691 1995 -::- Mail: beds@santosexpress.co.za

Santos Express ist ein echter Zug, direkt am Strand geparkt. Fragt an der Reception nach freien Kabinen und findet euren Schlafplatz entlang den langen Korridoren. Alle Zimmer sind ehemalige Zugabteile und daher nicht sehr gross, aber gemütlich. Der Strand ist 30 Sekunden Fussmarsch entfernt, ihr könnt also aus dem Bett direkt aufs Strandtuch rollen! Für Boot-Tours fragt an der Reception, sie werden alles für euch arrangieren. Das Stadtzentrum ist auch in der Nähe, erkundet ein paar lokale Restaurants! Ihr könnt auch Hai-Käfig-Tauchen buchen hier.

Weitere Infos findet ihr hier (auf Englisch).

-::- Coast to Coast - Seite 103 -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Park House Lodge

Guide Nr: GR1703 -::- Tel: 044 691 1937 -::- Mail: park-house@yebo.co.za

In diesem wunderschönen alten Haus werdet ihr euch sofort zu Hause fühlen. Nehmt euch ein bisschen Zeit um in der Hängematte im Garten auszuspannen und ein gutes Buch zu lesen. Die Zimmer sind über die verschiedenen alten Häuser verteilt und sind sauber und gemütlich. Falls ihr die Stadt erkunden wollt, fragt an der Reception für Richtungsangaben und Sehenswertes. Park House Lodge ist ein guter Ausgangspunkt für all die vielen Aktivitäten in Mossel Bay.

-::- Coast to Coast -::- Alternative Route -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Klein Brak
______________________________________

Little Brak Beach House

Guide Nr: GR1704 -::- Tel: 044 696 6769 -::- Mail: info@littlebrakbeachhouse.co.za

Weitere Infos findet ihr hier (auf Englisch).

-::- Coast to Coast - Seite 104-::- Alternative Route - Seite 60 -::-
-::- -::- -::-
-::-

 

George
______________________________________


George ist der Treffpunkt für die Route 62 und Oudtshoorn falls du mit Baz Bus reist*

Outeniqua Backpackers

Guide Nr: GR1707 -::- Tel: 082 316 7720 -::- Mail: info@outeniqua-backpackers.com

Falls ihr einen Ausganspunkt sucht um die Umgebung zu erkunden seid ihr hier richtig. Outeniqua Backpackers befindet sich in zentraler Lage in der Stadt und in der Nähe von Shops und Restaurants. Die Zimmer sind sauber und einladend und die Angestellten freundlich und hilfreich. Ein paar super Surf-Spots sind auch zu finden in der Umgebung. Für Zug-Freunde gibt es einen Zug namens "Outeniqua TjoeTjoe" von George nach Mossel Bay.

-::- Coast to Coast -::- Alternative Route -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Afrovibe Lodge

Guide Nr: GR1705 -::- Tel: 044 873 6336 -::- Mail: info@afrovibes.co.za

Weitere Infos findet ihr hier (auf Englisch).

-::- Coast to Coast - Seite 111 -::- Alternative Route - Seite 63 -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Misty Meadows

Guide Nr: GR1706 -::- Tel: 044 876 0464 -::- Mail: matt24@24.com

-::- -::- -::-

 

Wilderness
______________________________________


Fairy Knowe

Guide Nr: GR1709 -::- Tel: 044 877 1285 -::- Mail: fairybp@mweb.co.za

Es war einmal ein zauberhafter Wald, in dem die Feen leben und in der Abenddämmerung durch die Luft schwirren. In dieser Märchenwelt befindet sich Fairy Knowe Backpackers. An der Reception findet ihr eine Reiseberatung wo ihr viele gute Tipps kriegen könnt. Die Bar liegt zwischen knorrigen alten Bäumen und es hat Bänke zum chillen um die Feuerstelle. Die Zimmer sind super sauber mit weissen Leintüchern und allem drum und dran - sogar die Feen würden hier schlafen! Tagsüber könnt ihr herumwandern und die Märchenwelt von Wilderness erkunden oder in einem Kanu den Fluss hochpaddeln. In der Stadt gibt es auch ein hübsches neues Shopping Centre.

-::- Coast to Coast -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Beach House Backpackers

Guide Nr: GR1708 -::- Tel: 044 877 0549 -::- Mail: info@wildernessbeachhouse.com

Purzelt direkt aus dem Bett auf den Strand von Wilderness. Dieses Backpackers bietet eine unschlagbare Aussicht aufs Meer. Falls ihr surfen lernen wollt, fragt an der Recetion und sie werden euch mitnehmen für eine oder zwei Stunden Surf-Unterricht. Nach einem ermüdenden Tag voller Spiel und Spass kommt zurück für eine knusprige Pizza und einen Drink an der gemütlichen kleinen Bar. Falls ihr auf Abenteuer aus seid, bucht einen Gleitschirm-Trip - fragt die freundlichen Angestellten. Spannt aus unter den Sternen mit einem Feuer in der Mitte und interessanten Gesprächen.

Weitere Infos findet ihr hier (auf Englisch).

-::- Alternative Route - Seite 65 -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::- -::-

 

The Wild Farm Backpackers

Guide Nr: GR1710 -::- Tel: 044 877 0700 -::- Mail: info@wildfarm.co.za

-::- Coast to Coast -::-
-::- -::- -::-

 

Asante Caravans and Camping

Guide Nr: GR1711 -::- Tel: 044 877 1335 -::- Mail: info@asantecaravans.co.za

-::- Coast to Coast -::- Alternative Route -::-
-::- -::- -::- + Shuttle -::-

 

Buffalo Bay
______________________________________


Buffalo Bay Backpackers

Guide Nr: GR1712 -::- Tel: 044 383 0608 -::- Mail: info@buffalobaybackpackers.co.za

Einmal tief durchatmen und raus an den Strand! Der Sand wartet an der Türschwelle und lockt jede Sofakartoffel raus ans Meer. Das Backpackers bietet angenehme Familien-Atmosphäre. Ihr könnt hier essen, also keine Sorge von wegen Kochen in den Ferien. Hier kriegt ihr das originale Backpackers Feeling und müsst dafür ein paar kleine Defekte in Kauf nehmen, aber es ist ein wunderbarer Ort um ein paar gemütliche Tage zu verbringen, und an der Bar wartet schon das kühle Bier nach einem langen Tag in den Wellen.

-::- Coast to Coast -::- Alternative Route -::-
-::- -::- -::- + Shuttle -::-

 

Knysna
______________________________________


Island Vibe Knysna

Guide Nr: GR1714 -::- Tel: 044 382 1728 -::- Mail: knysna@islandvibe.co.za

Island Vibe JBay ist berühmt-berüchtigt für seine Party-Atmosphäre. Dies ist ein perfekter Ausgangspunkt um herauszufinden was Knysna so zu bieten hat. Die Waterfront ist in der Nähe, wo ihr Austern essen könnt mit einem guten Glas Weisswein. Viele kleinen Shops warten auf euren Besuch. Lust auf einen Boot-Trip? Erkundet die Knysna Heads oder Feather Bed Bay. Lieber auf zwei Füssen oder Rädern unterwegs? Der Wald um Knysna bietet super Wanderrouten oder Mountain Biking Wege. In alten Zeiten streiften Elefanten durch diese Wälder und manche wispern dass es sie noch immer gibt ...

Weitere Infos findet ihr hier (auf Englisch).

-::- Coast to Coast - Seite 119 -::- Alternative Route - Seite 67 -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Highfields Backpackers

Guide Nr: GR1713 -::- Tel: 044 382 6266 -::- Mail: jay@highfieldsbackpackers.co.za

-::- Coast to Coast -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Knysna Backpackers

Guide Nr: GR1715 -::- Tel: 044 382 2554 -::- Mail: info@knysnabackpackers.co.za

Dieses Backpackers sitzt auf einem Hügel mit Blick auf Knysna und die Bucht. Ihr könnt problemlos zu Fuss in die Stadt runter strollen um die Shops, Restaurants und Bars entlang der Hauptstrasse zu finden. Falls ihr euch die Nacht um die Ohren schlagen wollt ist dies ein idealer Ausgangspunkt, da der Weg nach Hause nicht zu lang ist. Die Waterfront ist auch zu Fuss erreichbar von hier. Die Angestellten sind freundlich und hilfreich und buchen jegwelche lokalen Tours für euch.

-::- Coast to Coast -::- Alternative Route -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Southern Comfort Western Horse Ranch

Guide Nr: GR1716 -::- Tel: 044 532 7885 -::- Mail: schranch@mweb.co.za

-::- Coast to Coast -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Peace of Eden Forest Cabins and Safari Tents

Guide Nr: GR1717 -::- Tel: 044 388 4671 -::- Mail: jeni@peaceofeden.co.za

-::- -::- -::-

 

Plettenberg Bay
______________________________________


Nothando Backpackers Lodge

Guide Nr: GR1722 -::- Tel: 044 533 0220 -::- Mail: info@nothando.co.za

Nothando ist ein alter Hase im Backpacking Business und sie werden euch sagen, was sich um die nächste Ecke befindet. Das Backpackers ist sehr sauber und gemütlich, und stolz auf seinen guten Service. Es hat einen hübschen kleinen Garten mit einer Bar, und einen Fernsehraum. Geniesst einen Drink und spannt aus für eine Weile, bevor ihr die Stadt erkundet. Ihr könnt Tours und Aktivitäten an der Reception buchen. Die Wal-, Delphin- und Seehunde-Tours sind immer eine gute Wahl, und ihr werdet in einem Kayak raus zur See fahren!

-::- Coast to Coast - Seite 125 -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Albergo for Backpackers

Guide Nr: GR1720 -::- Tel: 044 533 4434 -::- Mail: info@albergo.co.za

Albergo ist in der Nähe der Hauptstrasse - also alle Türen offen für Shopping-Fans! Es gibt viele Bars und Restaurants in Plett, besser tagsüber alles auskunden, damit ihr des Nachts euren Weg findet! Der Strand ist auch zu Fuss erreichbar, und auf dem Weg an den Strand runter gibt es ein paar super Aussichts-Punkte. Albergo bucht alle lokalen Aktivitäten und Tours für euch, und sie haben auch einen Shuttle Service um euch herum zu kutschieren. Die hauseigene Bar beruht auf dem Vertrauenskonzept - schnappt euch ein Bier aus dem Kühlschrank, und vergesst nicht es zu notieren!

-::- Coast to Coast -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Amakaya Backpackers, Information & Adventure Centre

Guide Nr: GR1721 -::- Tel: 044 533 4010 -::- Mail: amakayaadventures@xnets.co.za

Amakaya ist in der Nähe vom Stadtzentrum - von hier aus könnt ihr alles erkunden was Plett so zu bieten hat. Das Backpackers wurde gerade renoviert und die Räume sind grosszügig und gemütlich. An der Reception könnt ihr euch informieren über Aktivitäten in und um Plett. Dieses Backpackers ist berühmt für den Grossansturm von Studenten für den Plett Rage (super Party!) der jeden November stattfindet - früh buchen falls ihr in dieser Zeit hier seid!

-::- Coast to Coast -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Starling Backpackers

Guide Nr: GR1718 -::- Tel: 044 533 9108 -::- Mail: info@starlingbackpackers.co.za

Starling Backpackers ist einer dieser Orte wo man zufälligerweise reinstolpert und dann beschliesst für eine Woche zu bleiben. Die Gastgeber werden euch den ganzen Tag lang unterhalten und wissen eine Million Dinge, die man hier tun kann. Das Backpackers ist auf einer kleinen Farm und auf der anderen Seite vom Zaun hat es Pferde - falls ihr Reiten wollt, einfach an der Reception nachfragen. Die Station für Fallschirm Springen in Plett ist ganz in der Nähe - bei guten Wetter seht ihr die Abenteurer vom Himmel fallen! Ihr könnt jede Menge Aktivitäten hier buchen, und sie haben ein Shuttle falls ihr in die Stadt wollt. Starling Backpackers ist auch eine bevorzugte Absteige für die Stundenten während dem Plett Rage in November - früh buchen falls ihr hier sein wollt!

Weitere Infos findet ihr hier (auf Englisch).


-::- Coast to Coast - Seite 126 -::- Alternative Route - Seite 69 -::-
-::- -::- -::- + Shuttle -::- -::-

 

Abalone Beach House

Guide Nr: GR1719 -::- Tel: 044 535 9602 -::- Mail: abaloneplett@xnets.co.za

-::- Coast to Coast -::- Alternative Route -::-
-::- -::- -::-

 

The Crags and Nature's Valley
______________________________________


Wild Spirit Lodge

Guide Nr: GR1723 -::- Tel: 044 534 8751 -::- Mail: info@wildspiritlodge.co.za

Dieses Backpackers befindet sich auf einer wunderschönen Farm, am Rand vom Tsitsikamma National Park. Wenn ihr ankommt, betretet das Deck, werft einen Blick auf den Wald und die Berge in der Ferne, und ihr werdet nie mehr weggehen wollen. Wandert zum Wasserfall runter, badet im Pool zwischen den Felsen, spaziert durch den magischen Wald und grüsst die Feen und Trolle. Die Hunde werden euch auf allen Spaziergängen begleiten, und eines der Pferde marschiert direkt ins Haupthaus um die Gäste zu begrüssen! Geniesst das Frühstück auf dem Deck, verbringt einen Tag am Strand (fragt für den Shuttle Service) und umarmt ein paar Bäume - dieser Ort ist gut für die Seele.

Weitere Infos findet ihr hier (auf Englisch).

-::- Coast to Coast - Seite 127-::- Alternative Route - Seite 70 -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Rocky Road Backpackers

Guide Nr: GR1276 -::- Tel: 044 534 8148 -::- Mail: rockyroad@wwisa.co.za

Rocky Road ist berühmt für seine familiäre Atmosphäre, die guten Parties, die Freitag-Abend Braais (Grillparty) und die Drinks am warmen Feuer. Oh, und nicht zu vergessen die riesige Jaccuzi im Garten! Kommt und trefft neue Freunde und verbringt ein paar relaxte Tage in the Crags. In der Nähe befinden sich ein paar Tier-Reservate - Vögel-, Affen-, Elefanten- und Wildkatzen-Freunde dürfen sich freuen. Etwas weiter weg ist auch ein Schlagenpark, wo ihr etwas über die südafrikanische Schlangenbevölkerung lernen könnt. Der Strand von Natures Valley ist etwa 20 km entfernt - fragt nach Shuttles oder Transportmöglichkeiten. Für die Abenteuerlustigen gibt es den höchsten Bungy Jump der Welt, nur 10 min Autofahrt enfernt, bei der Bloukrans Brücke!

-::- -::- -::- + Shuttle -::- -::-

______________________________________

Hoffentlich schlaft ihr in einem warmen, gemütlichen Bett ...

About Us | Add your Backpackers Hostel or Business | Reporter Confirmation | Contact Us | Place an Add | ©2008 The Hitchhikers Guide

Start - Backpackers, activities and food in Southern Africa

Things to do
on the Garden Route

Diving and Watersport in Mossel Bay

Skydive in Mossel Bay or Plett

Adventure Tours in Wilderness or Knysna

Ocean Adventures in Plett

Animal Sanctuaries in the Crags

Accommodation in Mossel Bay, Klein Brak, George, Wilderness, Buffalo Bay, Knysna, Plettenberg Bay, The Crags and Nature's Valley
To suggest a place email -:- garden@theguide.org.za

Check out: Activities on the Garden Route

Places to stay along the Garden Route


You will be traveling through a one very large garden of places to see and activities to experience.
You can zoom into the map below or go further down for backpackers and contact details :)


View Larger Map


Mossel Bay
______________________________________

Mossel Bay Backpackers

Guide No: GR1701 -::- Tel: 044 691 3182 -::- Mail: mbbp@telkomsa.net

Set in a house near the beach this almost surf style backpackers will make you want to explore the beaches. It is close to some great surf spots so just ask and they will helpfully let you know where to find them. The museum is also close by so you can go see the old wooden ship that sailed into this harbor in days gone by. You can also just spend your days relaxing around the pool and taking it easy. Make sure to ask for directions as we got a little lost.

-::- Coast to Coast -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Santos Express

Guide No: GR1702 -::- Tel: 044 691 1995 -::- Mail: beds@santosexpress.co.za

Santos Express is actually a train so stop off at the office and find your room down the long corridors. The rooms are old cabins and are not very spacious but have the benefit of being the real thing. The beach is a 30 second walk out the doors of the train and you can see the famous Seal Island out in the bay. If you are up for a boat trip around the island just ask reception to book it for you. The main part of town is close by so if you are feeling like a bite to eat then take a walk to the nearby restaurants. You can also book Shark Cage diving from here and its often a better choice to do it here if you are running out of time.

For more information click here.

-::- Coast to Coast - Page 103 -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Park House Lodge

Guide No: GR1703 -::- Tel: 044 691 1937 -::- Mail: park-house@yebo.co.za

This beautiful old house will make you feel right at home. Take some time to relax in the hammocks in the garden and read through a long book. If you are up for wandering around then just ask at reception and they will give you the layout of the town. The rooms are scattered all over the old buildings and are clean and comfortable. This is good stopover for all the attractions that dot Mossel Bay.

-::- Coast to Coast -::- Alternative Route -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Klein Brak
______________________________________

Little Brak Beach House

Guide No: GR1704 -::- Tel: 044 696 6769 -::- Mail: info@littlebrakbeachhouse.co.za

For more information click here.

-::- Coast to Coast - Page 104-::- Alternative Route - Page 60 -::-
-::- -::- -::-
-::-

 

George
______________________________________


George is the meeting point for Route 62 and Oudtshoorn if you are on the Baz Bus*

Outeniqua Backpackers

Guide No: GR1707 -::- Tel: 082 316 7720 -::- Mail: info@outeniqua-backpackers.com

If you are looking for a base while exploring the surrounding area then this is the place to stay. It is centrally located in town and within easy walking distance of the surrounding shops and restuarants. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful. There are some great surf spots around the area so spend a few days exploring. You can also take the train called the Outeniqua TjoeTjoe from George to Mossel Bay as this is the only part of it still operating.

-::- Coast to Coast -::- Alternative Route -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Afrovibe Lodge

Guide No: GR1705 -::- Tel: 044 873 6336 -::- Mail: info@afrovibes.co.za

For more information click here.

-::- Coast to Coast - Page 111 -::- Alternative Route - Page 63 -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Misty Meadows

Guide No: GR1706 -::- Tel: 044 876 0464 -::- Mail: matt24@24.com

-::- Coast to Coast -::-
-::- -::- -::-

 

Wilderness
______________________________________


EquesNature - EquineRetreat

Guide No: 1739 -::- Tel: 079 8835 386 -::- Mail: equesnature@theguide.org.za

Cornelia offers guidance, detox, organic food and fitness breakaway retreats in the serenity of Wilderness on the Garden Route.
You will be relaxing in a cottage on the heights of Wilderness surrounded by fields and fynbos. The early 1900's  structure and atmosphere of the cottage gives you a unique feeling of being in a historic place in time-gone-by.
This place of natural beauty surrounded by  forest-covered mountains will ensure that all the stress of daily life fades away as your time goes by here. The night sky is a star covered phenomenon not to be missed! So whether you want to develop your natural horsemanship practice, de~stress, get fit or re define your life goals, it's all here waiting for you.

For more information click here.

-::- Not in the books -::-
-::- -::- -::- +Shuttle -::- -::-



Fairy Knowe

Guide No: GR1709 -::- Tel: 044 877 1285 -::- Mail: fairybp@mweb.co.za

Set in a little forest where you would believe there are fairies this place will make you want to stay for a while. The reception has a little travel desk with some helpful advice. The bar is set between beautiful old trees and there are benches for relaxing around the open fire place. The rooms are super clean with white linen and all, even a fussy fairy would approve. In the days you can wander off to see the magic of Wilderness, take a canoe up river or explore one of the trails. There is a nice new shopping centre in town with some quite unique places to visit.

-::- Coast to Coast -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Beach House Backpackers

Guide No: GR1708 -::- Tel: 044 877 0549 -::- Mail: info@wildernessbeachhouse.com

Fall straight out of bed and onto the wild beaches of the Wilderness. This backpackers has an amazing view and is set among some beautiful old trees. If you are up for a surf then just ask and you will be led out into the waves for an hour to two hour lesson. After a hard days playing come back to a pizza and their great little bar. If you are looking for even more entertainment then book a paragliding trip with their very happy and friendly staff. Relax under the starts with a fire and some great conversation.

For more information click here.

-::- Coast to Coast - Page 114 -::- Alternative Route - Page 65 -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::- -::-

 

The Wild Farm Backpackers

Guide No: GR1710 -::- Tel: 044 877 0700 -::- Mail: info@wildfarm.co.za

-:: Coast to Coast -::-
-::- -::- -::-

 

Asante Caravans and Camping

Guide No: GR1711 -::- Tel: 044 877 1335 -::- Mail: info@asantecaravans.co.za

We don't know much about them yet but have heard about their Trance Parties
.

-::- Coast to Coast -::- Alternative Route -::-
-::- -::- -::- + Shuttle -::-

 

Phumla Private Bush Camp

Guide No: GR1740 -::- Tel: 044 877 1998 -::- Mail: hemelopaard@gmail.com

-:: Coast to Coast -::-
-::- -::- -::-

 

 

Buffalo Bay
______________________________________


Buffalo Bay Backpackers

Guide No: GR1712 -::- Tel: 044 383 0608 -::- Mail: info@buffalobaybackpackers.co.za

Take a deep breath and relax into a life on the beach with fresh sea air. The sand actually flows into the door and drags you out to the breaking waves of Buffalo Bay. The place is well run with a friendly family atmosphere. They do meals so no need to worry about cooking while on holiday. This is bit more of the old style backpackers where you just have to accept a few minor defects but other than that its a wonderful place to spend your days. The small bar will have a cold beer waiting after a long day surfing.

-::- Coast to Coast -::- Alternative Route -::-
-::- -::- -::- + Shuttle -::-

 

Knysna
______________________________________


Island Vibe Knysna

Guide No: GR1714 -::- Tel: 044 382 1728 -::- Mail: knysna@islandvibe.co.za

Island Vibe JBay has a famous reputation and this backpackers is moving that way too. If you are up for exploring the beauties of Knysna then this is the perfect base. It is close to the Knysna Waterfront where you can enjoy Oysters and some white wine or explore the little shops that dot the waters edge. If you are up for a cruise on the bay then take one of the boats out and see the Knysna Heads or Feather Bed Bay. If you love walking or mountain biking then go up into the Knysna forest where you can see the magnificent Yellow Wood trees. Elephants used to roam these forest once upon a time and there are still rumors of their existence.

For more information click here.

-::- Coast to Coast - Page 119 -::- Alternative Route - Page 67 -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Highfields Backpackers

Guide No: GR1713 -::- Tel: 044 382 6266 -::- Mail: jay@highfieldsbackpackers.co.za

-::- Coast to Coast -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Knysna Backpackers

Guide No: GR1715 -::- Tel: 044 382 2554 -::- Mail: info@knysnabackpackers.co.za

Sitting on the hill overlooking Knysna this place has a great view of the bay and town. You can easily walk down the street to the shops, restaurants and bars that dot main road. If you are up for a night out this is a great place to be as its an easy walk back to your bed. The Knysna Waterfront is also within walking distance. The staff are friendly and helpful and will assist you in booking whatever local tours you would like to do.

-::- Coast to Coast -::- Alternative Route -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Southern Comfort Western Horse Ranch

Guide No: GR1716 -::- Tel: 044 532 7885 -::- Mail: schranch@mweb.co.za

-::- Coast to Coast -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Peace of Eden Forest Cabins and Safari Tents

Guide No: GR1717 -::- Tel: 044 388 4671 -::- Mail: jeni@peaceofeden.co.za

-::- Coast to Coast -::-
-::- -::- -::-

 

Plettenberg Bay
______________________________________


Nothando Backpackers Lodge

Guide No: GR1722 -::- Tel: 044 533 0220 -::- Mail: info@nothando.co.za

Nothando has been around Plett for a while so all you have to do is lift that hand and ask what around the corner. They have a very clean and comfortable place and pride themselves on service. There is a lovely little garden with a bar and TV lounge almost in the middle. Have a drink and relax for a while, once you are done you can go out and explore the town. They book all activities for you so just let them know what you are up for and they will arrange it. The whale, dolphin and seal tours are always a great choice and you can even do parts of the tour on sea kayaks.

-::- Coast to Coast -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Albergo for Backpackers

Guide No: GR1720 -::- Tel: 044 533 4434 -::- Mail: info@albergo.co.za

Albergo is close to the main road in town so the doors are open for those who want to shop. There are lots of restaurants and bars that dot Plett so take a walk around and familiarise yourself before night falls. The beach is also within walking distance so take a stroll down to the Wedge or Main Beach. There are also some great lookout points on the way down. They have a booking office and shuttle for all surrounding activities so make sure to check out their info signs at the door. The garden is a nice place to relax and they have an honesty bar so help yourself to a drink.

-::- Coast to Coast -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Amakaya Backpackers, Information & Adventure Centre

Guide No: GR1721 -::- Tel: 044 533 4010 -::- Mail: amakayaadventures@xnets.co.za

Amakaya is near the town centre so take a walk around and explore what Plett has to offer. The backpackers has just been renovated so the rooms are spacious and comfortable. They have a activities desk so you can ask about all Plett and what the surrounding area has to offer. This place is famous for the students that come for the Plett Rage (Party) so make sure you are aware of this around November.

-::- Coast to Coast -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::-

 

Starling Backpackers

Guide No: GR1718 -::- Tel: 044 533 9108 -::- Mail: info@starlingbackpackers.co.za

Starling Backpackers is one of those places that you happen upon and are happy to stay for a while. Your hosts will entertain you all day long and have a million things to do during your time here. They are on a small farm and have horses just over the fence so when you are up for a ride just ask. Plett Skydive is within walking distance so you will see the adventurous land on good weather days. You can also book lots of activities from here and they provide a shuttle to town and back. The evenings are fun filled with lots of stories to entertain the nights away. This is also a place where students come for the Plett Rage in November so make sure you are aware.

-::- Coast to Coast -::- Alternative Route -::-
-::- -::- -::- + Shuttle -::-

 

Abalone Beach House

Guide No: GR1719 -::- Tel: 044 535 9602 -::- Mail: abaloneplett@xnets.co.za

-::- Coast to Coast -::- Alternative Route -::-
-::- -::- -::-

 

The Crags and Nature's Valley
______________________________________


Wild Spirit Lodge

Guide No: GR1723 -::- Tel: 044 534 8751 -::- Mail: info@wildspiritlodge.co.za

This Backpackers has been taken over by pirates but otherwise its a lovely farm with beautiful animals, forests, birds and gardens. The stunning outlook onto the Tsitsikamma National Park will capture you instantly and not let you go any more. Take a stroll through the magical forest, go look for some gnomes or let the dogs lead you down to the waterfall. Have breakfast on the deck, drink in the view along with your coffee and then hug some trees - it's good for the soul.

For more information click here.

-::- Coast to Coast - Page 127-::- Alternative Route - Page 70 -::-
-::- -::- -::- -::- -::-

 

WWISA Volunteering

Guide No: 1276 -::- Tel: 044 534 8958 -::- Mail: info@wwisa.co.za

WWISA is run by Rocky and Mac and the two keep this great household in shape. If you are looking for a home away from home to spend your time in while volunteering then this is it. All the comforts in the world including a Hot Tub which is just an oversize Jacuzzi but they love it. The gardens are wonderfully kept by Rocky and provide the setting for their almost endless Boulette competitions. Volunteering happens in Kurland Village where you can help with school projects, helping in the Creche, Garden projects or any one of the other current projects on the go. Volunteers normally spend between a month and six months here and they often have return volunteers.

-::- Not in the books at the moment -::-
-::- -::- -::- + Shuttle -::- -::-

______________________________________

Hope you have a warm comfortable bed..

About Us | Add your Backpackers Hostel or Business | Reporter Confirmation | Contact Us | Place an Add | ©2008 The Hitchhikers Guide